29th National Team Chess Championship &
7th National Women Team Chess Championship
Puducherry – 10 to 15 March, 2007

Chief Arbiter Report

Pondicherry State Chess Association hosted the 29th National Team Chess Championship and 7th national Women Team Chess Championship at Arumuga Kalyana Mandapam, Puducherry from 10th to 15th March, 2007. In all  29 men teams and 11 women teams from various states participated s.  The  4 grand masters, 15 international masters and 3 fide masters in the open category and one IM and 4 WGMs in the women catgory. Natioanal champion S.S. Ganguly and former National champion Abhiji Kunte representing PSPB added colour and charm to the championship representing PSPB, were top seeded, with a team average of 2523, a new high in the National team championships.
            In the seven round format, the inaugural round witnessed the smooth sailing of all the top teams with a 4-0 white wash over their opponents in both sections. In the second round, Indian Airlines and West Bengal recorded 3.5-0.5 victories, whereas the Tamil Nadu team managed to grab a point from the favorites PSPB. PSPB stole the lime light from third round onwards and never looked back to clinch the title, securing 22 points. They and Railway Sports PB were assured of the first and second places in the penultimate round itself. LIC scored 18 points, half a point behind Railways, to finish third. West Bengal and A.P. senior were tied for fourth and fifth places, with same number of game points and match points. The team SB helped West Bengal helped to pip the A.P. team at the post.
Indian Airlines, the strong contenders for the title in the women section maintained their winning spree and outplayed the strong opponents in the half way stage itself. They won the title, with a round to spare, amassing 26.5 points. They conceded one point and half a point to Tamil Nadu and LIC, outplaying all other teams with a 4-0 score. Though Tamil Nadu were beaten 1-3 by LIC, they recovered to finish runner-up and LIC were placed next to them.
Swiss Manager, prominent pairing software, was used for the first time in India for team championships. The total prize money was a whooping amount of Rs. One lakh and eighty five thousand rupees.
Chief Minister of Puducherry, Thiru. N. Rangasamy attended the inaugural function. M.O.H.F. Shahjahan,  Hon’ Minister for Education , Puducherry Government distributed the prizes.  D.V. Sundar, Secretarty, AICF and Manuel Aaron, Secretary, TN State Chess Association and B.R.Babu , M.D. AFT offered felicitations in the valedictory .function.